And I learned and I learned till my lesson was learned

So, I haven’t been here in a while, I thought it was high time for an updateūüôā
The last months have been full of work and I truly hadn’t touched any scissors or glue in… well, too long.

Since some friends and family members had their birthdays in March, I made a handful of cards, but obviously didn’t take a picture before sending them off.

Anyway, here’s a card I made just now that, to me, screams “spring” and has “hello” written stamped all over it.

IMG_1012-001
The stamp set is from¬†Wplus9, the ink¬†is citrus by Adirondack and the butterflies are a¬†Kesi’Art die.

And here’s another little number I made using die-cut scraps (die cut by Maggie Holmes), a bit of silver glitter tape (it’s cool but it’s hardly a replacement for the now-unavailable AC glitter tape, I find) and my sewing machine. The sentiment is computer generated.

IMG_1020-002As for me, I’ve just finished my second semester(s) teaching Business English at college level and this time around I had to create a final 120-minute exam for two classes. That was no easy feat and I’ve been working on correcting those 50 exams for about two weeks now (while still teaching and translating stuff and not interpreting nearly as much as I would like).

I’ve found time at the beginning of the year to finish ten more pages for my neglected December Daily 2013 – I am now at Dec 24 and I’m pretty damn proud of that. You see, I’m easily satisfiedūüėČ

IMG_1021-002
No really, I’m happy if I get any crafting done at all, so I try not to put any unnecessary pressure on myself in that department.

In unrelated news, I’m escaping to Crete¬†before my 29th birthday rolls around (gasp) and I’m enjoying all the sunshine we’re getting here and all¬†those lovely bursts of colour that are popping up everywhere in the form of sweet spring flowers (on our balcony, too). The bees and bumblebees have returned and the birds and squirrels are busy as ever, which is quite fun to watch.

One more thing about my life recently – I’ve been working on a more sustainable lifestyle and it’s been a long time coming. Among other efforts, I started with food in summer¬†2013 by moving from a “complete omnivore” diet to a vegetarian-except-for-one-meal-per-week¬†regime and after two vegan cooking classes, some cool recipes and vegan cookbooks, I am now aiming at mostly vegan cooking in an attempt to balance out the impact of my once-a-week rule. I have started to get more informed on the topic of¬†clothing as well in an effort to make better choices now and in the future. (Apart from mending, recycling and using what you have, there’s armedangels.de – a really cool site for fair and organic clothes that look fresh and trendy). There are many more areas to tackle, e.g. cosmetics and palm oil. I’m on it and as corny¬†as it sounds, I’m hoping to make the world a better place (or at least a less terrible one).

Here’s a cool song I discovered yesterday thanks to a friend from Blogland (and her blog actually made me write a post today since I’m on her blogroll and that showed me that I hadn’t posted in 2 months):

Ewert And The Two Dragons – Pictures on MUZU.TV.
(Somehow can’t get the player to embed into this post, so here’s the link instead.)

Anyway, that’s what’s going on in my neck of the woods;¬†hope you’re enjoying a beautiful Sunday wherever you are!
Nina

About ninasays

A conference interpreter (German, English, French), living in Mannheim, Germany and taking an interest in an array of things such as papercrafting, language matters and food. Thanks for taking a look at my blog :)

Posted in Uncategorized

Permalink Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

