Getting to Know Me – Blog Hop

Hey there!

My friend Dana has tagged me for the fun “Getting to Know Me” blog hop – thanks for the kind words, sweetie!🙂
Having just spent the weekend at her place, chatting away, soaking up the sun and crafting/shopping/meeting other fellow paperlovers, I feel once again revived and enabled.

1742329_1493534697599395_102467219_n

[from left to right: Sandra, Alex, Paige, Dana, me]
[Photo snuck from Paige Evans’ Instagram]

Okay, so here goes:
Five questions about my crafting process and style and at the end I’ll get to nominate two talented ladies as well.

1. What creative projects are you currently working on?

Ha, I really hope you don’t mean “are still unfinished” by that – as Calvin (&Hobbes) once so cleverly said: “I  was put on this earth to accomplish a certain number of things. Right now I am so far behind that I will never die.” – my DecemberDaily 2013 is at page 11 is all I’m sayin’ ^^
Anyhow, I’m currently working on an album about my Mom’s 50th birthday – she’s got her 51st coming up and there’s still a lot to do! I have also received the photos for my Handbook about our holiday to France this August, so I’m itching to get going with that one, too.

2. What inspires your designs?

For cards, it’s mostly the receiver who inspires me – for instance: my grandma loves florals; my brother loves the outdoors and anything technical, but hates buttons (I’m not kidding, he doesn’t like to have buttons on his cards! :D), so when I’m creating a card for them I look for things in my stash that would fit the bill or I look around on Pinterest for a card that speaks to me.

I love blogs and try to keep up with what’s going on in the papercrafting world. I also love browsing the Studio Calico gallery whenever I need some eye candy or something that sparks my creativity and makes my fingers want to grab my supplies and Make. Something. Now!🙂

3. What method / process (if applicable) do you apply to each of your creative projects, and how long does each project take to complete?

Phew, good question. I guess most projects take waaay longer than I am willing to admit to myself. There really is no method behind what I’m doing, I mostly rely on my inspiration and/or gut feeling for that.

4. If you had to describe your ‘signature’ style, what would it be? 

Playful? Pretty? Cool? At least that’s what I’m aiming for.
“With a girly twist” is how Dana described it, I think🙂
I love to try new things (this goes for cooking and baking as well as for papercrafting!) and so I will always look for new ideas and techniques and looks that I can incorporate into my crafts.
Here are two recent projects I made:

IMG_5023-001

IMG_5026-001

IMG_5041-001Collage

5. What three crafting tools/products can you not live without?

Does my entire craft room with all of its contents count?😀
Okay, just kidding.
I love patterned paper – I rarely place any new order without adding some to my cart (I have built quite the collection over the last 6 years).
Mr. Hueys is another must-have. And item three… I’m torn between washi tape and my guillotine paper trimmer… okay, fine, the paper trimmer it is!
To tell you the truth, some years ago I dreamt that the house stood in flames – I remember that in my dream, I took my dog, put on my shoes and before leaving my flat was contemplating whether I should take my guillotine paper trimmer with me ^^ So clearly even my subconscience is convinced that this was one of the best purchases I’ve ever made🙂

Okay and now onto the ladies I nominate:

Michelle de Leon – She is such an amazing artist! Her work is magic. I swoon over every single layout, PL spread and mini album she makes. I know she’s a busy, busy girl, but I’d love her to pick up the baton and tell us a bit about her papercrafting process.

Sandra – Her writing is witty (German only, sorry), her layouts are fabulous and even though I’ve never met her so far, she has been on my blogroll ever since I discovered her blog way back in 2009. She also sometimes posts super genius organization ideas for the scraproom (my clear stamps are organized the way she showed, works like a charm!)

I’m curious to see what they’ll tell us about their crafting (if they accept, it’ll be live on October 6th on their individual blogs)🙂

Thanks so much for stopping by today!
Have a lovely week!

Nina

About ninasays

A conference interpreter (German, English, French), living in Mannheim, Germany and taking an interest in an array of things such as papercrafting, language matters and food. Thanks for taking a look at my blog :)

3 responses to “Getting to Know Me – Blog Hop

  1. Danke für’s “mitspielen”! Den eigenen Stil beschreiben ist am schwersten, oder? … und YAY, die Karte ist mein🙂

  2. Thank you so much for the lovely nomination! That’s so sweet of you🙂 I seemed to have missed the deadline, but I will definitely bookmark this for when I have a bit more time. I looked at the first question about what you’re working on right now, and I am sad to say that I have absolutely no creative projects on the go right now! PL has just slipped away with how busy this semester is, but I’m trying to make an effort to at least take some more photos this month so that one day I can at least have some pictures to work with. I have nothing for September unfortunately.

    I love the projects that you shared, the pops of pink are amazing against the neutrals! Thanks again for the nomination, I appreciate you visiting my very inactive blog🙂

  3. Tolle Karte🙂 Hast du das Mini vom Workshop schon fertig? Ich habs gleich am nöchsten Tag fertig gestellt…müsste es nur mal fotografieren.

    Lg
    Katja

Leave a Reply

