Everybody gets a second chance

Hey y’all! How’s life treating you?
Over here, major changes are  underway since I graduated from Uni two weeks ago.
Yep, you read that correctly – my student life is now officially over🙂 I still can’t quite believe it – relieving and exciting all at the same time. What now? I’m going to apply for different kinds of jobs (mainly for translating/interpreting, natch) and I’m going to continue doing small translating and interpreting assignments. We’ll see where it’ll lead🙂
My colleague from work recently had a birthday and I made some sweet treats (tried my hand at Cake Pops for the first time, they turned out great, but I know each and every single one of them has about a gazillion calories, oh boy ^^)…

Chocolate/Vanilla Cake Pops, first take🙂

And, of course, she got a birthday card (I made the paperclip, using some My Mind’s Eye fabric and a common paper clip – I need to get hold of some fabric stiffener, that would prevent the fraying and I’d be able to make cute embellishments like those bows)…

… and this Accordion/ Leporello album made from scratch (using this idea with different measurements). My album measures 4 1/4 x 6 1/2 and I am particularly proud of taking the courage to stamp on fabric – I test-stamped on a leftover swatch and found that Stone Grey Staz-On didn’t show up too well, but Palette Hybrid Ink in Noir Black made a nice impression.
I was really happy to finally use my newly acquired Tim Holtz stamp – it is sure to make an appearance in future projects as well since I am totally in love with the font treatment🙂

Here’s a little collage showing you the insides of the album:


If you have any questions, let me know🙂

P.S.: The title of this post is, of course, the title of a favourite song by Mike & the Mechanics, but currently the tune playing in my head is Mayer Hawthorne’s “A long time” – an appropriate title as well ;D

About ninasays

A conference interpreter (German, English, French), living in Mannheim, Germany and taking an interest in an array of things such as papercrafting, language matters and food. Thanks for taking a look at my blog :)

4 responses to “Everybody gets a second chance

  1. topkatnz

    Yay! Love all your creativity:) the mini-album looks very cool. Hope that dream job finds you soon.

  2. Hi Nina. Congrats on your graduation and all the best for your job applications🙂 Doing well here. Yes, I was in London earlier in the year, and also made it to Vienna to see my cousins. Great holiday!
    Love your photo album in this post – what a wonderful gift. Best wishes, Anne

  3. … second chance to say I’m sooory… aaah, Ohrwurm!!🙂 Madam, Sie sind meine neue Minialbum-Queen! Wie cool, dass Du den Photography Stempel dabei einsetzen konntest. Hab mich schon gefragt, wann der seinen ersten wohlverdienten Auftritt bekommt😉 Nochmal Glückwunsch zur bestandenen Prüfung und sorry, dass ich bei dem Anruf so kurz angebunden war – ich war gerade bei der Arbeit und wir hatten an dem Tag im Raum gegenüber eine Massenbewerbung mit gut 50 Leuten laufen… ugh. Für Deine eigene Bewerbung – hat Frau G. noch keinen Platz in der Botschaft für Dich reserviert??😉

  4. Nina, herzlichen Glückwunsch! Das sind ja wunderbare Neuigkeiten.😀 Der richtige Job für Dich wird kommen, da bin ich mir sicher. Aber Daumendrücken kann nicht schaden, oder?😉🙂
    Deine neuen Werke sind ein Traum, besonders das Album hat es mir angetan. Aber die Kuchenlollis sehen auch seeehr lecker aus.

    Hab ein schönes Wochenende, Tina

Leave a Reply

