I’m already out of foolproof ideas

Hey everyone,

long time no post, eh? Well, I’ve always meant to write something, but then… I never did.

So anyhow, this is just a quick update to let you know I’m still there, concentrating on university stuff, on jumpstarting my career and such. I’m still making cards and now that I’ve got a new sewing machine I’ll try to do more of that as well.

Here are some recent projects using the Paper Heart Collection from Crate (love!!):

This one was given to my Valentine this year –  a shaker card (total CASE of this lovely number by Julie Campbell) made by stampig those Hero Arts people (man & woman) on the inside of the card, tracing the outlines with an Xacto knife and glueing a thin acetate sheet onto the cutout area (for a general shaker card how-to, look here). The sentiment is handwritten.

In the background you can see the Red Velvet Cake I made for my boyfriend, courtesy of this recipe from Bakerella (no, I do not own a cute cake stand, total breach of blogger cliché, sorry. But look, cake!). The cake is delish, but I must warn you: there’s more sugar in one slice than a person should eat in like a week or so. Next time I make this (there will be a next time, ‘cos this cake is super moist and tasty), I would use less sugar in the cake batter and I would half the ingredients used for frosting since I had quite a big batch of leftover frosting. All in all, the cake is very sticky – it will stick to a greased pan as well as to parchment paper, so I don’t know how you get this off the pan nicely. But thanks to the frosting (which is NOT white, since it’s made from equal parts cream cheese and butter), noone will notice, believe me.😉

This card was made with the same collection, some washi tape, bakers twine, stamping, faux stitching and splotches of Mr. Huey’s Lemonade, Overdue and Shine.🙂 Oh and the layout was taken from this lovely card by Dawn McVey.

And since it was Valentine’s Day yesterday, I’ll leave you with a photo of cute pink roses (a special variety from Strasbourg):

See ya!

P.S. The title of this post is from a great song by the ever-so-lovely Sara Bareilles (http://www.tape.tv/musikvideos/Sara-Bareilles/Uncharted – the video is um… innovative?).

 

About ninasays

A conference interpreter (German, English, French), living in Mannheim, Germany and taking an interest in an array of things such as papercrafting, language matters and food. Thanks for taking a look at my blog :)

3 responses to “I’m already out of foolproof ideas

  1. Using less sugar in the recipe will make the cake less sticky:) but maybe also less moist? love the banner on top;)

  2. Ngawini

    The cake looks delicious and the card equally so. Lucky Nico!

  3. Da zeigst Du uns aber tolle Sachen, Nina. Der Kuchen war bestimmt lecker, oder? Und die Rosen sehen toll aus. Die beiden Karten gefallen mir auch wieder besonders gut.

    Hab einen schönen Sonntag, Tina

Leave a Reply

