The Middle of Nowhere

Hello World!
How’s it going? Over here, the hottest topic around seems to be the windy, rainy and cold weather that’s occupying the place of seasonally appropriate weather. And of course, when skies are grey, no way I could take any decent pictures (I always rely on natural light). Luckily, the weather changes by the hour, so here are some pics of cards I recently created:

This one is a shameless CASE of this stunning card by Laura Vegas. The original just kinda screamed my name😉 and it’s great to use for a male recipient since it’s so clean relying upon structure rather than bows and flowers.

The patterned papers used are Studio Calico and MME, the ribbon is Harvest Gold Twill from Paperytrey, the letter stickers are from Basic Grey and the rest is from my stash.

I’m particularly proud of this card made for a friend whose cousin is getting married. The doily in the background (from my lovely friend Angy) was misted with Mr. Hueys Lunch Tray, adhered over a strip of Dear Lizzy Mixtape and partly covered by a Dear Lizzy just write ticket. The letter stickers are charcoal fabric Thickers and the sparkly flower is a Prima Sugar Blooms one.
The design idea is very loosely taken from this card from June 2010 by Sarah Martina.

Last but not least, here’s a card I had to make for a sad event. A dear neighbour of ours recently lost the fight against cancer and so I made this sympathy card for his wife and family. He was a great person and we’re going to miss him.

The background was stamped in PTI’s Charcoal (image from PTI’s Giga Guidelines) and the papers are from the Cosmo Cricket Upcycle Mini Deck. To give the card another personal touch, the sentiment was handwritten.
This btw is my interpretation of a recent MACM from Kristina Werner.

Otherwise, not a lot has happened, I’ve been trying to cross some things off my list and last weekend we went to Munich for fun. I’ll show you the pics next time🙂
ATM I’m working a bit more in the wine store to cover for my boss, who’s on a well deserved two-week vacation.
And from next week on, our excercise schedule at uni (preparation for oral exams in October) starts. I’m trying not to think about the exams too much yet, just makes me nervous😉
I’ll also be trying to scrapbook a little in the next time since there’s quite some stuff I’d like to record right now. I’ll make sure to show you the results🙂

Have a nice week and talk to you soon!

Nina

P.S. This is the cool (2005) song the above blog post title is from:

About ninasays

A conference interpreter (German, English, French), living in Mannheim, Germany and taking an interest in an array of things such as papercrafting, language matters and food. Thanks for taking a look at my blog :)

2 responses to “The Middle of Nowhere

  1. love this! Especially the 2nd card. can’t wait to see you on Thursday as well….

  2. Die oberste Karte finde ich wirklich grandios! Habt ihr Euren Nachbarn nochmal besuchen können? Irgendwie macht mich das gerade betroffen – auf der Party haben die Mädels und Nico so begeistert von einer Hilfsbereitschaft und seinem Humor erzählt…
    Ihr wart also wirklich mal einen kleinen Ausflug machen🙂 War schon ewig nicht mehr in München, dass muss ich unbedingt nachholen die nächsten paar Wochen. Apropos nachholen, vielleicht rufe ich Dich am WE mal wieder an – it’s been too long ;o)

Leave a Reply

