Read the writing on the wall*

Hey everyone! How are things?

In good old Heidelberg it’s windy, raining, but the sun is shining all the same.
I had promised you to post the photos of my apple pincushions way back in February, but so far I can’t for the life of me find the pictures I took…:/ If I find them, I’ll of course share them with you. So for now, I’m going to show you an envelope album I made for my friend Julian, who is a pilot. It came in handy that my most recent delivery of lots and lots of paper crafting goodness contained two stamp sets that lent themselves to this project.

 I have used this “Envelope Book” idea from Heather Nichols several times over the past years and I’ve always been very pleased with the outcome.

This time I stuck to the colour combo Rustic Cream/ Dark Shadow/ Harvest Gold/Aqua.

The stamps are PTI, Studio Calico and Tim Holtz.

The backside was covered in Rustic Cream CS, then stamped in Palette Noir and American Crafts Aqua Chalk Ink. To add some interest, I sprinkled Mister Huey’s (lunchtray) onto the cardstock.

Whaddya think? It basically took me forever to finish this, must’ve been the “thesis syndrome” holding me back. That’s also the one responsible for my lack of pincushion photos, I guess.

On another note, Thursday last week, Buck turned 5:

And we made a field trip to Strasbourg, where we got to interpret the Parliamentary Assembly’s Session for three days (silent booth, of course ;))

That stewardess (sorry: uniformed crew member ;D) in the middle is yours truly😉
We had so much fun there🙂

Anyway, gotta go and help my best friend packing, for tomorrow she’ll move to Berlin:/
See ya!

*The title stems from this great song (that I included in my thesis): Kodachrome by Paul Simon.

About ninasays

A conference interpreter (German, English, French), living in Mannheim, Germany and taking an interest in an array of things such as papercrafting, language matters and food. Thanks for taking a look at my blog :)

7 responses to “Read the writing on the wall*

  1. Sehr schön! (;
    Schade,dass man die Fotoseiten nicht sieht.
    Tolle Stempel!!! (;

    Ja, ich muss meine Bestellung endlich auch mal machen! (;

    Liebe Grüße
    K (;

  2. topkatnz

    Hey there stranger. The envelope book looks very cool – love the papers!

  3. Nina, das Teil haut mich um! Die ganze Arbeit hat sich aber so was von gelohnt, ich bin wirklich hin und weg.
    Oh, und herzlichen Glückwunsch, Buck!!!😀 Der Süße scheint frisch und munter zu sein.😀

    Ganz liebe Grüße, Tina

  4. Hallo Nina,
    Danke🙂
    Ich kann mich den anderen nur anschließen! Das Album ist wirklich schön! Ich liebe die Farben! Ganz besonders toll finde ich den Kamera-Stempel!!!
    Viele liebe Grüße – aus dem heute schön sonnigen Hamburg🙂

  5. Hi Nina
    All well here and lovely to hear from you. Such great news that you’ve finished your thesis – well done🙂
    Wonderful album – very suitable for a pilot!

    Happy crafting, Anne

  6. Hallo meine Liebe, wie cool die neuen Stempel in action zu sehen – und zu Deiner Farbwahl muss ich nix sagen, oder?❤ Hoffe, ich komme die nächsten Tage auch wieder dazu mit den Goodies zu werkeln und was zu posten. Um Dir noch eine lange ausstehende Antwort auf Deine Frage zu geben: Für den Kartenhintergrund hatte ich einzelne Bereich einer Impressionplate mit verschiedenen Stempelfarben eingefärbt und dann alles embossed.

  7. Girls, super duper cute!! LOVE your projects. The colors are just stunning!!! Happy birthday to the special friend of yours. Wow, big 5!!!🙂 You look great in the photo!!! Take care!

Leave a Reply

