It’s My Turn To Decide.

Hey there!!!

A very happy New Year to all of you!
Did you have a great time over the holidays? With lots of snow? We sure did🙂
Yesterday and today were almost spring-like though, with day temperatures around 11-16 °C. So all the snow has gone away and the rivers are pretty much overflowing everywhere. (Not as bad as over in Australia, but still.)

I wanted to show you two cards I made for the current Passion for Papertrey “Background Basics” Challenge.

The first card is a total CASE of Aga’s fabulous card that was later (and rightly so!) also featured on Cath’s Moxie Fab blog. The white card base and the Kraft cardstock are from Papertrey. (I wish it was more – I really need to place an order soon!)

I also made an effort to get creative and think about a card design myself (with a stamped background and using more Papertrey items than just cardstock), so I created this little number here:

I masked off the top portion of the Rustic Cream cardstock and stamped the dotted line from “Journaling Lines” in Dark Chocolate to create a grid. I stamped the tiny stars from the same set to add some interest. My friend Angy made the darling flower using the PTI Bloom Builders #1 – gorgeous, don’t you think? The sentiment was stamped in Palette Noir and the heart in L’Amour Red onto PTI Kraft cardstock.

It was really hard taking a decent photo – it’s been so cloudy and when there’s sun in the evening, the colours don’t show up quite as well. I sometimes struggle with editing them much – I like my photos fuss-free!

If you have any questions about the material I used or about anything else, just let me know!

Btw, I have now started research for my diploma thesis about Scrapbooking and the Handmade Movement.
I’ve never made New Year’s resolutions before, but this year I have. Though writing a thesis is not really a resolution, mind you. It’s one of the last efforts in order to get my degree and it’s a rather interesting topic as I’m sure you’ll agree ;D
My “other” resolutions for this year are: making doctor’s appointments that I’ve been avoiding, sorting out a certain annoying thing  (that I’ve long time tried to avoid, too) and maybe also blogging more than I did last year🙂
Did you make any resolutions?

Okie dokie, I’m off to bed and wishing you a nice, relaxing Sunday!
So long!
Nina

P.S. The title of this post is from a song I currently looove: Sara Bareilles “King of Anything”

About ninasays

A conference interpreter (German, English, French), living in Mannheim, Germany and taking an interest in an array of things such as papercrafting, language matters and food. Thanks for taking a look at my blog :)

12 responses to “It’s My Turn To Decide.

  1. What a fabulous CASE of Aga’s beautiful card! I agree – it’s a gorgeous creation!
    You’re own take on our challenge is fabulous too though; I love the graphic design with the sentiment!
    Thanks so much for joining us on A Passion for Papertrey!
    Hugs,
    Aimes
    x

  2. Hi Nina!

    Danke für Deine Glückwünsche! (;
    Sind am Planen und wissen garnicht wo anfangen! (;

    Cool – du findest Papertrey auch toll?
    Und du hast schon bestellt? Direkt?
    Das wollte ich auch schon lang mal!

    Mein Budget geht allerdings in letzter Zeit wenn dann immer für studio calico drauf! (;

    Liebe Grüße nach HD aus d. Nähe von FR! (;
    Katharina

  3. Aga

    Wow! I am so flattered that my card was your inspiration! Love your creations! Thanks for sharing and good luck with the challenge!🙂
    Aga

  4. Hallo Nina,
    das Posten auf der “about” Seite funktionierte gerade nicht. Ich versuch’s hier noch einmal.

    vielen, vielen Dank für deine netten Kommentare.
    Ich habe jetzt gerade mal so durch deinen Blog geklickt und finde deine Karten absolut klasse.

    Ganz liebe Grüße
    Kerstin

  5. Hallo Nina,

    Deine Karten sind beide toll, die zweite gefällt mir aber einen Tick besser.

    Ganz liebe Grüße, Tina

  6. …ich habe deinen direkten Email-Kontakt nicht gefunden…

    Das mit der Freundin in USA ist natürlich praktisch. (;
    Ich möchte unbedingt auch mal bei papertrey bestellen,die haben so tolle Sets!
    Man kann ja nie genügend Stempel haben!!!! (;
    Dazu brauche ich aber auf jeden Fall noch ne Bigshot o. Ä. (; damit ich die passenden Stanzen bestellen kann.

    Das CAR würde mich echt jucken…die Referentinnen!!!! (;
    Und man muss sich beeilen mit anmelden.
    Gehst du schon Freitag hin und wo übernachtest du?

    Wegen der Hochzeitskarten: klar mach ich die selbst – bin doch Grafik-Designerin, da haben ein paar Leute recht hohe Ansprüche an mich und ich natürlich auch! (;
    Aber ich hab schon ne tolle Idee! Hätte eigentlich gerne nen Letterpress-Druck (zumindest für den Titel) aber das ist in den USA doch etwas einfacher…

    Liebe Grüße zurück
    aus dem sonnigen Emmendingen! (;
    Katharina (;

    Von ninasays am 16. Januar 2011 14:21 unter schrottvögelchen eingestellt.

  7. Liebe Nina,

    auf meinem Blog wartet ein Award für Dich!
    (;

    Und ich meine das richtig ernst!
    Lieben Gruß
    Katharina

  8. Love the title! Hope you’re surviving the cold weather. BTW – your Christmas card is finally here! thankyou for thinking of me:) Hope your year is a fabulous one!
    P.S. Could you translate all your comments into English so I can read them!LOL
    Hugs, Hx

  9. Sehr schöne Karten! Ich wäre viel zu ungeduldig und ungeschickt für so was.😦

  10. Danke für Deine lieben Kommentare! Bear Hug einfach herrlich! Schöne Farben hast Du da genommen! Ja das Foto mit dem VW-Bus habe ich selbst gemacht, mußte ganz schön warten bis bei uns mal die Sonne schien! Den Text habe ich im Photoshop eingefügt, den kann man von Cathe Holden runterladen http://justsomethingimade.com/2010/10/free-holiday-scripts/ Das Foto war auf meinen Weihnachtskarten😉 Ich lieb ja auch alte Autos und überhaupt so’n alten Kram!

  11. Der Bus ist ca. 14 cm lang und die Pakete sind eingepackte Streichholzschachteln. Die Eltern meines Schwagers hatten früher einen großen in orange, da waren wir viel mit unterwegs, alle Kinder natürlich nicht angeschnallt das war da noch so und bei jedem Hubbel flog man unter die Decke, war das ein Spaß! Wenn ich mich mit Autos auskennen würde hätte ich auch ein altes, so ist es “nur” ein Mini, den ich aber sehr liebe!

  12. Nina, these cards are beautiful! I love that they have a CAS layout, but then you’ve added such nice details that really give them that extra something special! :o)
    Oh, and to answer the question that you left for me, the twine is from The Twinery!

Leave a Reply

