Sofa so good

Yesterday I finally covered the lower part of my couch with the new fabric I bought. It’s striped, so it took quite some time to get everything straight and stapled – but! It’s finished and it looks so cool! I’ve had my old sofa for… oh ages and the pattern was so “90s” (ugh!). Now I just need to figure out how my new / old sewing machine works, then I can finish sewing the upper cover and voilà – my couch will be as good as new! I’ll share a picture when everything’s done🙂

Now lookit what I got in the mail today…

sweet kawaii

Say “awwwwwwwww”😉
These are from My Cute Stamps and I think they’re indeed irresistibly cute! Those were also what I had in mind when I made the following card:

popsicle 1

The base is Basic Grey “Two Scoops – Very Berry Sundae”, the cherries are from SU!s Tart & Tangy Set. I inked them up with Real Red and Old Olive markers, stamped them in a random pattern and used glue and Dazzling Diamonds to make them sparkle. My SU! Scallop punch took a bite out of the top right corner (5 out of the top layer, 4 out of the bottom layer to give it some 3D effect). The chipboard letters are Basic Grey as well and the ribbon bow is Stampin’ Up!.

popsicle 0

Notice the Hello Kitty popsicle stick? Yep, I had Hello Kitty ice cream that day, then decided that the stick was too cute to simply throw it away. So I thoroughly cleaned it, let it dry and in the meantime made the card🙂 Whaddya think?

Have a great, sunny day!

P.S. Just to give credit: Popsicle cards were around everywhere last summer, my source of inspiration was Lynn Larson. I stumbled upon the “Sweet Kawaii” set because of the hilarious Krystie Lee and her adorable samples using the set: for example this card, that card and the onesie. She’s super talented, no?

About ninasays

A conference interpreter (German, English, French), living in Mannheim, Germany and taking an interest in an array of things such as papercrafting, language matters and food. Thanks for taking a look at my blog :)

6 responses to “Sofa so good

  1. What a cute Ice-cream card … we don’t get Hello Kitty ice-creams over here!!LOL … looking forward to seeing your finished sofa project …

  2. Oh that popsicle is some serious cuteness! Great!!1

  3. The card is inspired and individual. A lovely summer feel to it. I love it. Looking forward to seeing the sofa.

  4. Wahoo, die Karte sind lecker aus!! Jetzt weiß ich auch von welchem süßen Stempelset Du geredet hast🙂 Unsere Bestellung ist leider immernoch unterwegs, aber mittlerweile schon im Land! Hoffentlich dauert es nicht mehr so lange… ich bin bei Bestellungen immer so ungeduldig!
    Ach ja, zu Deiner Frage: Ich bin eigentlich nur bei ICQ angemeldet (#355101104) melde mich aber relativ wenig an z.Z. und dann noch im StudiVZ. Wünsche Dir ein schönes Wochenende! {Ich glaub, ich brauche jetzt ein Kirscheis *g*}

  5. Hi Du, es tut sich leider immer noch nichts an der Track & Trace Front… Jeder Schritt bei dieser Bestellung dauert doppelt so lange wie normal *snief**
    Die Karte habe ich übrigens wirklich komplett in die Schreibmaschine eingespannt. Der Winkel konnte nicht mehr schräger sein als so, sonst wäre die Karte auf halbem Weg hängen geblieben🙂 Ah, bevor ich es vergesse: Ich habe Dir einen Blogaward weitergegeben!! Wenigstens das (wenn’s auch leider noch nichts von PTI gibt) liegt bei mir abholbereit auf dem Blog🙂

  6. *lechz* – jetzt kriege ich nicht nur Lust auf Eis, sondern will auch sofort diese Karte nachbasteln. Obergoldig! Perfekte Inspiration für eine Geburtstagskarte, die ich noch basteln muss🙂

Leave a Reply

