Secondary translation: you’re doin’ it wrong!

Of course there’s also a card to share, but first of all I have to tell you that I went to see “Milk” – a very good movie! Sean Penn was incredible, really. Great actor.
One thing though: I’d rather have seen it in English, which apparently had better voices and of course no bad translations.

Seriously, some mistranslations hurt me physically. I’m not saying I’m perfect, but these are mistakes that translators just shouldn’t make. Or of course, if the following examples weren’t translated by a professional, here are some good reasons to employ one:

In the movie, one guy says something like “Is it just me or is this guy incredibly cute” – the German version was “Bin das nur ich oder…”
-.-‘

Or in one episode of the Gilmore Girls, Rory declares “I’m cool with that” and they translated it with “Ich bin cool damit”

Or look at this bad boy AKA a Ben & Jerry’s ad:

ben_jerrys

I’m sorry, but “in 2009” is not German.
And yet it’s conquering the German language – help!!

Some of the worst translational mistakes can be seen in the German versions of Stampin’ Up!s catalogues though. For example this little ugly thing:

kind people

Just a little explanation: The English >>equivalent<< is "Kind people are the best kind of people." I don't think there's anything else to say but: WTF??!!!

I'm sorry, this might be what you'd call "Berufskrankheit" (occupational disease) but it makes my eyes bleed.
Seriously, people @ SU! Germany: You missed the point. Entirely. Please stop making all those gross mistakes. Produce something that we can use, for heavens sake! Thank you.

To finish, meet todays card:

star sweetheart

Have a good night!

About ninasays

A conference interpreter (German, English, French), living in Mannheim, Germany and taking an interest in an array of things such as papercrafting, language matters and food. Thanks for taking a look at my blog :)

8 responses to “Secondary translation: you’re doin’ it wrong!

  1. topkatnz

    LOL!! … I think it is an occupational disease … glad you enjoyed Milk, really love Sean Penn as an actor …

  2. Ich will erst gar nicht wissen, wieviel die Werbeagentur dafür kassiert hat auf dem ganzen Plaket nichts anderes zu ändern als aus dem W ein U zu machen ;o)
    Mir fällt jedenfalls spontan dieser Link von der WM 2006 dazu ein: http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?file=/c/a/2006/06/07/EDGDOILM3B1.DTL%20

    …nur um Dir zu zeigen, wir beeinflussen umgekehrt auch die englische Sprache… etwas *g*

    Die PTI-Bestellung ging übrigens ohne Probleme durch – leider habe ich aber noch keine Versandbestätigung bekommen.

    LG, Dana

  3. …ah, ich war zu schnell!! Die Karte ist SUPER! Grandiose Farbkomination😀

  4. …ah, ich war zu schnell!! Die Karte ist SUPER! Grandiose Farbkombination😀

  5. Oh, Du sprichst mir aus der Seele! Nur wenn ich so was sage, heißt es wieder, ich sei eine Klugscheißerin bzw. “typisch Lehrerin”…

    Ganz schlimm fand ich neulich die Folge von “Dead like me”, in der das Hobby Scrapbooking mit “Sammelalbum” übersetzt wurde. Ähnlich furchtbar ist die Übersetzung “Napfkuchen” für Muffins.

    Und ein schlauer Übersetzer hat mal Infos über Stephen King mit dem Satz “Stephen King ist Republikaner” versaubeutelt. Autsch.

    • Nachtrag: Das ist schon ein paar Jährchen her, und damals waren die deutschen Republikaner stark in den Medien mit Negativschlagzeilen vertreten. Und die amerikanische Politik war weit nicht so bekannt in Deutschland, dass jeder wusste “entweder Democrat oder Republican” – sprich: im Bericht über Stephen King kam die politische Orientierung eher braun als schwarz rüber…

  6. Ohhhhh… danke! Endlich sagt das mal jemand “laut”! Wenn ich was sage verdrehen immer nur alle die Augen und sind genervt von der “Moechtegern-Englaenderin”.
    Und Dein Blog und diese Karte sind super! Nein, falsch, nicht nur diese Karte, alle, die ich bisher gesehn habe hier!

  7. Hihi, wie lustig! Ich hab aber ein Beispiel von einem deutschen Journalisten, der George Lucas am Schluss des Interviews bat noch einen typischen Schluss-Satz zu sagen . Er sagte natürlich: May the force be with you! Und der tolle Journalist hat übersetzt: Ich werde am 4. Mai bei Euch sein! Bei Übersetzungspannen muss ich immer dran denken:)

    Liebe Grüsse
    Vanessa

Leave a Reply

