It’s not me, it’s you

I just had to bribe myself with a candy bar to get my lazy self to vacuum the ridiculous 29 square metres I call my flat. Pathetic😀
And doing that I realized that I have no clue how to change the bag… Umm, yeah.

Now I guess you haven’t been sitting on the edge of your seats to read about me and the Incredible Laziness that I call my own. Yeah you’re all waiting for the story with the Huge Monster Elephant Who Almost Killed Me. “All” refers to my two readers – Hi Thorsten and Heidi!.

Well okay, your wish is my command, here goes:

It was Saturday, aka the third to last day in South Africa, and we were doing a Safari Tour with our guide Brian. He brought us to the Fairy Glen Game Reserve where we had a great breakfast and then met our ranger and started to drive with one of those huge 4x4s.

4x4

First we saw some Rhinos, peacefully grazing. I started taking pictures and then… my SD card died. It may be April 1st today, but I’m not kidding. Here’s one of my last pics before the memory card collapsed:

rhino1

Murphy’s Law, I’m tellin’ ya. Back in Cape Town, the people from the photo shop in the Clock Tower Mall fortunately managed to rescue the card so that the holiday photos I took before – over 400(!!) – weren’t lost.

Then we continued driving on the field road and our ranger spotted the heads of two elephants somewhere way back, so we drove near them, he switched off the engine and started telling us about those two young bulls.

elephant1

Suddenly the one you see in front started coming towards us. And even though he didn’t walk fast at all, he continued approaching at a steady pace onto the field road. Apparently he had no intention to stop, so our ranger started the engine and wanted to turn, but behind us there was some kind of rock, so we couldn’t just back off.
At this point the elephant was just about one or two metres away from the vehicle. Which was REALLY scary. The whole 4×4 was screaming (or maybe just the women. I can’t remember whether I screamed, I think I didn’t. I think I was occupied with being petrified in horror. Which might have been because I was sitting far left in the front row.) and our ranger tried to shy the bull away by approaching just a bit and making lots of noise and dust.
The elephant actually took a step backwards, but then continued coming towards us. Eventually our ranger managed to turn the vehicle in what felt like 100 steps (with the elephant in about one metre distance) and drove further away where we would be safe.

elephant2

Can you see the shadow right at the bottom of the picture? That’s the frame of the (missing) windscreen of our 4×4. Yep. That’s how close this freakishly huge animal was. Talk about adrenaline! I think my poor mom was fearing for her life and mine, and our sportive ranger was suddenly very quiet and busy cranking the steering wheel. One thing is for sure: this wasn’t planned. But we survived nonetheless. So on March 14 my mom and I will celebrate our “second birthday” from now on🙂

lion

The rest of our Safari trip went really nicely (apart from the fact that the lions are kept from killing the visitors by something that looks like soldering wire… ;)), we saw giraffes, zebras, antelopes (among them the national animal of South Africa, the Springbok, very beautiful maculation), gnus, ostriches… even a baby ostrich!! Too cute!

giraffe

After the 3 hr game drive we had a nice lunch at the reserve, wrote into the guest book and I took a little swim in the pool (the upper one, not the lower one with crocodiles in it, as proposed by the ranger) there on this beautiful hot day. The pics with the red date on them were taken with Brians camera – Thanks Brian!🙂

bah

BTW this is… um… an unknown person, my mom and Brian😉

About ninasays

A conference interpreter (German, English, French), living in Mannheim, Germany and taking an interest in an array of things such as papercrafting, language matters and food. Thanks for taking a look at my blog :)

7 responses to “It’s not me, it’s you

  1. Well there you go … had me laughing a bit with that post!! … glad you survived you ‘elephant encounter’!! … and you got us all puzzled and reaching for the dictionary with the use of the word ‘maculation’ … aren’t we the english as a first language ones!!??LOL

    • Hi Nina,

      Great u survived the elephant attack and that you guys are all ok!! Those elephants (in my opinion) are clearly teased and unhappy as an elephant does not charge people on a daily basis..we had exactly the same experience by the elephant, rhino and buffalo too which makes me wonder!!!!

      Therefore we do not take anybody there anymore!!! We are all lucky to have escaped…..not sure how long they will take it before serious damage is done!!!

  2. Impressive that you had the guts to take pictures in the face of death😉 Nice photos as usual.

  3. Ngawini

    Hey Nina
    What an adventure! Glad you and Beate survived to tell the tale . . . and claim a new birthday!
    Not a bad idea at all.

  4. Hi Nina! Yes I am from Germany, too (Aschaffenburg to be more specific). Your pictures (and Brian’s) of South Africa look incredible :))

  5. Sehr schön! Nach Südafrika hab ich es bisher leider noch nicht geschafft. Aber Deine Sneak macht Lust auf mehr🙂
    Naja, ich würde mal sagen, ich bin gerade über die 100 Tage-Marke gekommen was das schnippseln betrifft. Also wirklich ganz frisch dabei. Hier in der Gegend finde ich die Sachen der Papierwerkstatt (http://papierwerkstatt.blogspot.com) sehr schön, allerdings geht es dort mehr um Scrapbooking als Karten. Und selbst, schon länger “süchtig”?

  6. Pingback: Je ne regrette rien « Nina says

Leave a Reply

