The book closes and we try to forget

Yesterday all the bulky furniture was moved to my new home, yay! Thanks to my brother and my friend Thorsten, I have to say. That rhymes, so it’s gotta be true 😉 Anyway, now I’m sitting in a pretty empty room and so far I haven’t done a thing for the two tests (both medicine) coming up in three days/ one week. The classes were really interesting, but I’m such a slacker when it comes to actually memorize stuff for one test or another.
On a different note, I’m all excited for the new closet, bed and cupboard I’ll order in a week or so. Then the “holidays” will have started and I can finally move out here. So looking forward to having my very own flat!

Now, as I promised in the last entry, I’ll show you something I made in my sewing class at evening school: The famous Card Sending Kit, very much inspired by Heather Nichols’ incredible example! As soon as I laid eyes on this little treasure, I knew it would be perfect to make as Xmas gift for my mom and – as silly as this might sound – this very kit was the decisive factor that made me want to take the class! Blaming it all on Pine, heehee.
Voilà, mission accompli:

cardsendingkit11

It was my very first project (never used a sewing machine before EVER) and it took me 2 classes (6 hours) to finish the felt etui. I used light grey thick felt, a soft dark grey thin felt and cutesy buttons from my local craft/sewing store, white and light blue yarn and Papertreys lovely Aqua Mist Grosgrain Ribbon.

The supplies for the cover are: PTI Kraft Cardstock, SU Whisper White CS, SU! Linen Twine, Inkadinkado Snowflake (from the Holiday Collection Rubber Stamp Set) stamped with an Encore Silver Pad and the sentiment is from Stampendous Tiny Tags Clear Stamp Set in Perfect Match Dark Chocolate Ink.

Concerning the etui, one thing you really have to pay attention to is that if you use two layers, the outer one will be quite a bit shorter because of the bend. And also, you have to watch out for the creases when sewing together the long edges, otherwise it won’t look as nice. A very good hint from my sewing teacher concerning seaming together the different tissues (the ribbon is smoother than the felt and therefore runs faster): take a piece of sturdy paper or something similar and place it between the top of all your tissues and the presser foot, just beside the needle. Here’s a look at the inside:

csk-inside2

In the pockets I tucked five matchingly stamped envelopes, a pen (embellished on the inside and outside with Stampin Ups retired Buckaroo Blue Double Stitched Ribbon) and the following cards:

csk1von5

csk2von5

csk3von5

csk4von5

csk5von5

All the same, yet all different. 😀 The cutie bird is from Inkadinkado’s Birds Galore Set and the yummy DSP is SU! Wintergreen (retiring!! Can you believe that?!! I soo love this paper, it has all of my favourite colours, boohoo). The “Danke” (Thanks) was stamped in Versamark Sage Craft Ink, SU! River Rock and SU! Certainly Celery and the black writing was done with a black gel pen (using my computer for copying nice fonts – did I mention my own handwiriting is SO not pretty :D).

Well, I hope you enjoyed this, I am now off to start reading stuff for the tests. And in a week or so I’ll move the rest of my things to my new home.
NEW LIFE STARTS IN 3… 2… 1…

Take care!

P.S. If you need a laugh, look at Ambers new entry about sleep talk – made me laugh!

About ninasays

A conference interpreter (German, English, French), living in Mannheim, Germany and taking an interest in an array of things such as papercrafting, language matters and food. Thanks for taking a look at my blog :)

6 responses to “The book closes and we try to forget

  1. Hi Nina!! Would love to see what you’ve made for your mother, but I unfortunately can’t see the pictures! 😦
    Yes, Fribourg is right next to Gruyère!! 🙂 We’re did you eat?? We’re going next weekend eat cheese fondue with french friends at le chalet. I know it will be good since we were there about 6 times in the past year!! hihihi!! We’re in Fribourg since a little bit more than a year and we don’t know until when, so we have to take advantage of being so close to Gruyère!! 🙂
    Yes, that’s it, decorative scissors. 😉 There are lots of them and the one to do the stamp border is my favorite!!:)
    Looks like we are 2 to have this talent: speak 3 languages (do you count schweizer deutsch?!) 😉
    hugs
    Marie-Pierre

  2. Oh! Wow!!! 🙂 Way to go!! I also used the sewing machine for the very first time a couple of weeks ago, but I only used it to sew around a scrapbook page!! Hihihi!! I took me about one hour just to get the machine ready!! I almost abandoned!! 😉
    Well, because Schweizer Deutsch really doesn’t sounds like german, let’s say it’s another language…!! 😉 hihihii!!!
    hugs and kisses,
    Marie

  3. Julian

    What an incredible beautiful piece of…. uselessness 😉

    Just kidding, very pretty!

  4. Deine Seite gefällt mir, und dieses Filztäschchen ist entzückend, ich mache das sicher nach wenn ich darf !
    Vielen Dank auch für deinen lieben Kommentar bei mir.

  5. Hi there Nina … some blog hopping led me here,all the way from NZ, and I just had to say your card sending kit is Fab!! loving the colours and design – and I would never have been able to tell it was your first ever sewing project!WTG!!

  6. Terry

    It’s very beautiful 🙂

Leave a comment