You’ve been with me a year to the day

Having a sore throat is a pretty good excuse to have maple walnuts ice cream, isn’t it?🙂

Otherwise I’m doing good, looking forward to our mini-vacation at the end of the week for mom’s birthday. I’m still working on her gift, a mini envelope book for photos, so stay tuned for pictures!
Currently I’m building my schedule for the semester to come and also, I just booked evening classes, one for muscle relaxation and one for learning how to sew (yay!!!) and I’m really looking forward to that.

Do you know what day we have?
Um yes, today is World Translation Day, but that’s not what I wanted to talk about.

It’s Bucks anniversary!!! One year ago today we picked up the little fluffball (okay maybe rather big ball o’ fur… it’s totally unfair that he leaves hair everywhere and doesn’t have to clean it up – he should be vacuum cleaning the flat, not me!!). He brings happiness and hair joy to our lives. I am so grateful for having a friend like him and I can’t imagine my life without his wet little nose nudging my hand anymore. I’m sure those of you who have dogs as well can relate to those feelings.

I feel I’ll have to make a scrapbook page for this memorable date. (Actually I could make a whole book with all the cute pics I already got… well step by step!)

He looks really blurry on this smaller version, if you click on the picture you’ll see the photo without the blur.

Today as we were preparing lunch (oven-roasted fish with a variety of vegetables) I was reminded of sharing this great link with you:

I am sure there is an English equivalent somewhere out there in the world wide web, but for the benefit of those of you who happen to understand German, this site gives you the inspiration you need for cooking and baking delicious food. The huge variety of recipes (at the moment there are almost 113 thousand of them) is a big bonus AND – now comes the best part – the recipes are evaluated with up to 5 stars by the community members, depending on how much they liked the dish that was prepared on the basis of the recipe shown. So for example, if you have chicken left and coconut milk, you just type both terms into the search box and you get all the results, then you sort them by rating and soon you’ll know which ingredients, how much time and what you need to do for a delicious meal!

Every year, for example, I choose a different cake to make for Renés Birthday and so far I have done good with using Chefkoch.de.

Every year, for example, I choose a different cake to make for Renés Birthday and so far I have done good with using Chefkoch.de.


Here are some of my favourite recipes I found thanks to this page: the yummy CINNAMON ROLL CAKE, the so-called Yogurt Bomb(e) or the very delicious Salmon-Spinach Lasagna. And by the way: the access to the recipes is free! Enjoy!

Now to some cards I made recently:

This is a tri-fold card on the basis of Ruth Hinds’ Birthday Card. I wanted a special card for Renés 25th and as the original card was already in masculine colours, it wasn’t hard for me to imagine my version of it. René said he really likes it, so: Thanks, Ruth!

For the outside I used the Squiggle Circle Border from Stampendous with Baby Blue Versacolor Pigment Ink, my 1 1/4″ circle punch and Soft Sky Double Stitched Ribbon with a staple.

For the second side I stamped Hero Arts “Graphic Dots” – again in Baby Blue ink – all over the paper and punched another 1 1/4″ circle.

When doing the final layer I realized that I don’t own a single birthday stamp😀
So I improvised, cutting out a template in order to imitate the cake from the “eat cake” SU set. I think it worked pretty well. On the right you can see the scallop circle I punched out as well as some Certainly Celery DSP and the circle from the Priceless set mounted on dimensionals. All of the words in this card are handwritten (I tried not to let my real handwriting shine through ;D).

The following picture isn’t nearly as nice as the card would deserve it, but I needed to take a pic to show it to you immediately!

Now before you say anything, I know that the sentiment is crooked. I still like it though. These adorable lantern stamps are from Inkadinkado and were not exactly a bargain, but totally worth it! I was inspired by this cushion (which sits on my bed, oh I love it so much!) by Impressionen Versand

I really have a “thing” for cushions. I don’t know why I am so attracted to them, I just can’t stop buying cushions – strange, huh?! If my boyfriend knew how much I already spent on cushions, he’d call me nuts. Seriously. But you know, that would come from a guy who spent a total 2.300 € on two bikes… Heehee!
Back to the card: I stamped my own patterned paper and adhered it to the back of the layer where I cut out some sections of the lanterns. Then I used some Old Olive Twill Ribbon and paper ribbon from Ikea for additional interest. Next time I will try to stamp the lanterns directly onto DSP, I’m excited to see how that will work – I’ll let you know!

Before I end and hop blogs until I can’t hold my eyes open anymore go to bed, I have to show you some more of my favourite blogs about paper crafting:

If you’re familiar with Papertrey, I am sure you’ll recognize this incredible woman. It’s

HEATHER NICHOLS

and her creations make me speechless, really! I visit her blog at least three times a day *grin* Take a look at her work – much better than me trying to explain how awesome she is!

This pretty face belongs to another amazing paper crafter:

DAWN McVEY.

She is a part of the Papertrey Design Team as well and if you’ve seen her work, you’ll know why! Many of her cards are so adorable they make me want to sit down and recreate something similar immediately, she is so inspiring!

Anyway, that was all for today, I hope you’re having a great week!

About ninasays

A conference interpreter (German, English, French), living in Mannheim, Germany and taking an interest in an array of things such as papercrafting, language matters and food. Thanks for taking a look at my blog :)

One response to “You’ve been with me a year to the day

  1. Thorsten

    “He brings happiness and joy to our lives. I am so grateful for having a friend like him and I can’t imagine my life without his wet little nose nudging my hand anymore.”

    Are you sure you didn`t mean “…and I can’t imagine my life without his wet little nose sneezing in my face anymore.”?😉

    I am a Chefkoch fan, too. This site basicallykeeps me from starving🙂 Gotta try the recipes you recommended, they sound awesome exceptvor the spinach lasagna since i have a severe disgust for spinach😉

Leave a Reply

