Random stuff

So here are just some things I wanted to fit in an entry but have not a lot to do with each other, so it would’ve been difficult to connect them.


[1] Saturday we went shopping (yay!) for some clothes for René and I didn’t buy anything (ha!) but at the very end I ventured into a beauty store and bought my FIRST EVER BENEFIT Make Up.
Yes, you read that correctly. Until only 3 days ago I used to be a BENEFIT VIRGIN. There you have it.
I’ve always wanted to try out their products since I read quite a lot of good things about them over at Hey Dollface, but of course they’re not for a student’s budget. So anyway, I didn’t really know what to buy so I chose the “realness of concealness” kit. That way I get to try several products at once, which is great if you’re not sure if and how well they work on you.

[2] Now what I wanted to share with you as well is a link to the blog of a friend, it’s FILMABEND by Thorsten and is only for those of you who understand German – sorry! He used to write movie reviews, so on his blog you’ll find exactly that plus some personal stuff etc. What I’ve read so far was exactly what I thought of the movies as well and I am really impressed with his observation skills. So go and check out his site!🙂

[3] Over to some of the cards I made recently:

This is the “Crazy Dog” by Inkadinkado and the sentiment is the “Posie greetings” from Stampendous. The River Rock DSP and the River Rock double stitched ribbon are complimented by a Bo Bunny Brad (Chocolate collection). The combination of the brad and the ribbon was inspired by a card that I can’t seem to find now. If it was your card, please stand up (if you’re slim shady, you may keep your seat).p>


There we got a card clearly inspired by the Stampin’ Up Celebrate Notecard which I loved the second I laid eyes on it. Clean and fresh – just how I like it. Ingredients include the Priceless Flower Stamp (SU) and dotted ribbon from Making Memories.


What I got inspired from to make this card were the window cards by Joanna Wassens – she does some great stuff, make sure to check her blog! To create this, I used the “Paper Salon Tailored Tins Smitten Alphabet” – the sentiment is stamped in Certainly Celery on special cardstock with shimmering fibers inside, that’s where the shadows come from (the “asterisk” is actually the tiny flower from the SU Priceless Set). What you see through the circular windows is a very wide dotted chocolate coloured ribbon, so if you opened the card you’d see the whole strip of ribbon.


Now here’s a card I needed to make, the original is just soooooo cute! And it’s so incredibly easy to make!!! I wrote the sentiment with a white gel pen on the arrow I “eyeballed”. The ribbon is from “Spice it up”, everything else is from my local craft store.

So that is all from the card front for today, hope you enjoyed it!

[4] Here’s a bit of information for you, if – like me – you’re located in Germany and searching for scrapbooking/ rubberstamping/ cardmaking supplies:
In order to help you, I’ll tell you where I bought my stuff so far:

The first (big!) order I got from the USA was from Krafty At Krafts and I can totally recommend it. They have lots of different brands in stock, amongst them some my favourites like Stampendous, American Crafts, Inkadinkado…

A second order (bigger!) I got just recently from Addicted To Rubberstamps . The quality of the products is impeccable, unfortunately they declared the stuff just as they were so I had to go to the customs office and “buy” my package from them (they charge the tax rate depending the kind of products), but still it was very nice to work with them and they shipped sooo fast!

Of course I also ordered stuff on eBay (especially Stamin’ Up!) and I can recommend it, although ordering from many different American & Australian retailers is not a bargain if you’re thinking of all the additional shipping costs. Yet still you just don’t get all the great stuff here, so eBay has become a good friend of mine ever since I started to stamp.

Soon (not this month though – I decided to go on a shopping diet – so no crafting supplies until October!) I’m going to place an order at Papertrey Ink. Their stuff is too cute to be true! I love their style and I’m looking forward to the new releases for winter.

Another online store that is going to get a big order is Two Peas in a Bucket. At the moment they have quite a large SALE section, where everyone can find reduced items to his or her her taste.

Where do you shop for crafting supplies? I’d be happy about some more tips!

So, thanks for stopping by, I’m off to buy a new printer cartridge (for the cute Nancy Kubo designs!). See yas!

About ninasays

A conference interpreter (German, English, French), living in Mannheim, Germany and taking an interest in an array of things such as papercrafting, language matters and food. Thanks for taking a look at my blog :)

4 responses to “Random stuff

  1. Your version is fabulous! Isn’t it a fun and easy card to make? Even though it’s simple it has so much impact. Thanks for sharing your version with me!

    Jenn

  2. Wow! Thanks for posting a link to my blog! I am so glad that I could provide you with inspiration for your new hobby. Your cards are great, by the way! Stamping is a wonderful hobby, I just love it too.

    Stampin’ Up! are actually open in Germany now – so you could sign up to be a demonstrator or buy from one there if you like. Here is the link to the Germany website: http://www2.stampinup.com/de/deu/default.asp
    Happy stamping!
    Joanna

  3. Thorsten

    Hey Nina,

    Thanks so much for the nice words, i almost blushed when i was reading them (observation skills? me??)🙂

    And the cards look awesome as usual, especially the one with the windows. Nothing better than being creative, right?😉

    Take care,
    Thorsten

  4. Mel

    Danke für deinen Kommentar auf meinem Blog – es freut mich, wenn ich jemand inspirieren kann🙂 Aber so wie ich das seh brauchst des gar net, deine Karten sind alle seeehr cool. Wirklich schön – alle miteinander. Und Papertrey kann ich nur empfehlen *hüstel* Sehr schnell, wenn der Zoll net dazwischen kommt *gg*😉
    Liebe Grüße und alles Gute,
    Mel

Leave a Reply

